Unit Member of the Year Award

  • Unit Members of Year

    Great things are accomplished one task at a time by one American Legion Auxiliary member at a time: one offer of help to the wife of a deployed serviceman; one volunteer assisting with a community blood drive; one friendly invitation to another woman to join the Auxiliary. The efforts of our members add up to millions of hours and millions of dollars annually in service of the Auxiliary’s mission. Those members whose extraordinary dedication energizes their units—and thereby the organization as a whole—are honored with the Unit Member of the Year Award. The Auxiliary recognizes these members and highlights their accomplishments at the organization’s national convention.

    Download Award Application

  • About This Award

    The Unit Member of the Year award recognizes women serving at the unit level who exemplify the values and ideals of the Auxiliary and whose accomplishments significantly impact the program work in their units.

    Download Award Application

  • Criteria & Selection Process

    • Nominees must be an adult American Legion Auxiliary unit member not in an elected or appointed leadership role higher than unit president.
    • A narrative of 1,000 words or less describing the nominee’s accomplishments and activities must be submitted by a unit to its department’s Past Presidents Parley chairman.
    • Each department selects one Unit Member of the Year from its submitted candidates.
    • The selection of the winner is at the discretion of the department Past Presidents Parley chairman.
    • Recognition of the winners occurs at the American Legion Auxiliary’s national convention.
  • 2012 Unit Member of the Year

    Name State Unit Name and Number
    Michele Root Arizona William Bloys Unit 2
    Donna Farrier Illinois Lawrence Riddle Unit 88
    Shirley Ohta Indiana Floyds Knobs Unit 42
    Vicki Hulse Iowa Department of Iowa
    Nancy Hayes Kansas Dwight Lamson Unit 258
    Linda Drummond Kentucky Richie-Trent Unit 148
    Rosie Sziszak Louisiana Tucker A. Gregoire Unit 258
    Carolyn Ross Minnesota Cass Lake Unit 284
    Ruth Schmitz Nebraska Unit 52
    Sally Frizzell New Hampshire Fredonwarell Unit 17
    Simona Collins New Jersey Unit 201
    Linda Weisdofor New Mexico Roy Unit 33
    Sharon Williams New York Merrick Unit 1282
    Betty Jo Young North Carolina Banner Unit 109
    Mary Etta Richards Ohio Marion Unit 179
    Donnetta Hockaday Oklahoma Lowman Clark Unit 161
    Elsie Dieken South Dakota Piedmont Valley Unit 311
    Jean Lundholm Utah Payson Unit 48
    Julie Stuhlmeyer Wisconsin Howard J. Schroeder Unit 457
    Audrey Ebsen Wyoming Kristie Starks
    Kristie Starks Texas C.M. Joslin Unit 618
You are here: HomeAwardsUnit Member of the Year Award


“Girls Nation has embedded, without doubt, an everlasting visage on my heart, for no experience can even compare..." – Siyu Liu, ALA Girls Nation Senator

Our Social Profiles

facebook badge twitter badge youtube badge pinterest badge